# MASAKATSU SHIBASAKI

#### Institute of Microbial Chemistry 3-14-23, Kamiosaki, Shinagawa-ku, Tokyo, 141-0021 Japan



**Title of Lecture**: "Recent Progress in Cooperative Asymmetric Catalysis"

 Phone:
 +81-3-3447-7779

 Fax:
 +81-3-3441-7589

 Email:
 mshibasa@bikaken.or.jp

#### **Education:**

1974 Ph.D. University of Tokyo (Professor Shun-ichi Yamada)

# **Research and Professional Experience**

1974-1977	Post-doctoral Research Associate, Harvard University (Professor E. J. Corey)
1977-1983	Associate Professor, Teikyo University (Professor Shiro Ikegami)
1983-1986	Research Group Leader, Sagami Chemical Research Center
1986-1991	Professor, Hokkaido University
1991-2010	Professor, The University of Tokyo
2005.5-2006.3	Vice-president of The Pharmaceutical Society of Japan
2006.4-2007.3	President of The Pharmaceutical Society of Japan
2006.4-2008.3	Dean of the Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, The University of Tokyo
2006.4-2011.9	Member of Science Council of Japan
2010.4-	Director, Institute of Microbial Chemistry (BIKAKEN)
2013.4-2015.3	President of The Pharmaceutical Society of Japan
2014.11-	Chairman of Board of Directors, Microbial Chemistry Research Foundation

# **Research Interests**

Development of New Synthetic Methods, Design of Biologically Significant Compounds, and Synthetic Studies on Biologically Significant Compounds

# **Awards and Honors**

- 1981 The Pharmaceutical Society of Japan Award for Young Scientists (Japan)
- 1994 Inoue Prize for Science (Japan)
- 1996 Fluka Prize: Reagent of the Year 1996 (Switzerland)
- 1998 Tetrahedron Chair (Belgium)
- 1999 The Pharmaceutical Society of Japan Award (Japan)
- 1999 The Molecular Chirality Award (Japan)
- 2002 The Naito Prize (Japan)
- 2002 ACS Award: Arthur C. Cope Senior Scholar Award (USA)
- 2003 The National Prize of Purple Ribbon (Japan)
- 2004 The Toray Science Award (Japan)
- 2005 The Japan Academy Prize (Japan)
- 2006 Takamine Memorial Sankyo Award (Japan)
- 2007 The Rare Earth Society of Japan Award (Japan)
- 2008 ACS Award: Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry (USA)
- 2008 Centenary Medal and Lectureship, Royal Society of Chemistry (UK)
- 2008 Prelog Medal, ETH (Switzerland)
- 2010 Special Award of Synthetic Organic Chemistry of Japan (Japan)
- 2012 Ryoji Noyori Prize (Japan)